• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
LunaMorrow

No feedback or engagement

Hi everyone.

I've just got a question I've been pondering for a few months and I still need some help to answer it.

I have a friend and her mare is really irresponsive to any kind of offer or phase. I've had a play around with the mare when she was over at my house with my friend. I tried some no yield on her, she was a bit concerned about my stick and string, but was good after a few minutes.

So I tried some basic yields with her and some short range circles. I got a tiny try of hindquarter and forequarter but I had to run through my phases a few times for anything (so it doesn't count as a try in the end). When I tried some circles with her I found that she has absolutely no understanding of personal space. When she came into my space I asked her out again with some energy and had no response from her, so I went through my phases with a nice big and visual phase four but she still didn't get out of my space! I tried for a while longer and I pretty much had to phase four right on top of her poll to get her to just lean out a little.

So basically, how can I help my friend to show her mare the good deal and release if the mare isn't responsive at all to any kind of offer or phase. She just totally shuts off and shuts me or my friend out.

**please note that my friend looked into QS but her family can't afford it**

Thanks in advance.

Hi Luna

This is a tricky situation as you are neither an instructor nor a trainer. It sounds as though the mare is quite shut down and the only way you can really help your friend is to persuade her to follow the programme.  There is no quick fix. I understand that her family might be reluctant to pay but surely their daughter's safety and happiness is worth something.