• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I am very new to this wonderful world of QS and somewhat disorganised in my learning (bits and pieces here and there). I love and deeply respect everything I am discovering. I am wondering if QS has a “list” of its Principles as a kind of simple guidelines to always fall back on and be reminded of. Something to pin up on the fridge so to speak :)

Welcome, Carolyn. And congratulations on getting that first post worked out. :)

Yes, we have our R.O.P.E principals. I might need to repost these or do a video, so they are easy to refer to.

Release. Horses learn by release (not pressure)

Options. There should always be an option for the horse to choose.

Program. Teaching the horse should be done in steps so you can always go back a step if you need to make it easier for the horse.

Enjoy. It should be enjoyable for both of you; remember to smile.

Thanks Shane, that’s helpful and I love the simplicity (knowing too that simple and easy aren’t the same thing). 

Welcome Carolyn.  I am so glad you are enjoying your discoveries with QS.  It is terrific to see you here on the Forum....in itself such a wonderful resource of all things horse.

Shane has described our foundation principles beautifully.  Nothing means as much to us as our horses enjoying the journey as much as we do.  I look forward to sharing yours with you.

:)

Shane, I am pondering “options”. I have only just been learning basic groundwork with my local QS teacher (I see her once a month). I was practicing the “request” with my boy Tushka inviting him out on the circle. We changed direction a couple of times which went well. But suddenly he didn’t want to know about it and started pawing the ground. I insisted (probably not in the QS spirit as I’ve got old habits to break). He reluctantly complied. What would be an example of offering him “right options “ in this case?