• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi..I'm new to QS and my horse has recently been diagnosed with" mild" kissing spine... do you think this course would be helpful as I need to develop his top line to support his spine.. hoping to get back to riding eventually

Cheers Lisa

Hi Lisa

QS will be great for getting that top-line working and without using old school physical control. But the problem is getting through level one skill-building first. It will be crucial throughout your level one that we get your horse flexing well laterally and lifting that back, and your coach will need to keep an eye on it during your assignments.
I have done quite a bit of work with kissing spine horses. The first thing you will need is the trust of your horse, so they don't blame you when their back pinches because as you strengthen their back, it will pinch sometimes. Just like us going to the physio, except they don't understand we are trying to help them in the beginning.

Keep us posted on how you are going and get some assignments or questions in when you can.

Cheers,

Here is a link to a video ok a horse that has kissing spines in the UK, this horse is level 1 and starting level 2 with his owner Sam.

Here is another  horse who has just recovered from kissing spine surgery and is working on level 2, he does so well we went to Germany to do a demonstration.

Great question Lisa, and welcome to QS!